National Archives This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

The Administration recognizes that maintaining healthy ocean, coastal, and Great Lake waters is foundational to our Nation’s economy, security, global-competitiveness, and well-being.

On June 19, 2018, President Trump signed Executive Order (EO) 13840 to coordinate and streamline Federal actions related to ocean science and technology and ocean resource management through the establishment of an interagency Ocean Policy Committee.

The Ocean Policy Committee, co-chaired by CEQ and the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), engages and collaborates with stakeholders to address matters involving the ocean, coastal, and Great Lakes waters of the United States. The Ocean Policy Committee consists of two interagency subcommittees, the Ocean Science and Technology Subcommittee and the Ocean Resource Management Subcommittee, to support the committee and accomplish the goals laid out in EO 13840.

On November 14, 2019, CEQ and OSTP hosted the White House Summit on Partnerships in Ocean Science and Technology which brought together over 100 leaders and experts to identify opportunities for partnerships to develop and employ science and technology for the conservation, management, and balanced use of America’s oceans.

On November 19, 2019, President Trump signed a Presidential Memorandum directing Federal agencies to develop a National strategy to map the United States’ Exclusive Economic Zone and a strategy to map the Alaskan coastline to advance our understanding of our oceans and coastlines and to promote efficient permitting related to ocean exploration activities.

Presidential Ocean Proclamations: