National Archives This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

President Donald J. Trump today announced his intent to nominate the following individuals to key positions in his Administration:

Earl Robert Miller of Michigan, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Peoples Republic of Bangladesh.

Ambassador Miller, a career member of the Senior Foreign Service, has served as an American diplomat since 1987.  Since 2014, he has served as Ambassador at the United States Embassy in Gaborone, Botswana.  Prior to his ambassadorship in Botswana, he served as Consul General in Johannesburg, South Africa from 2011 to 2014.  He also was Regional Security Officer at embassies in New Delhi, India from 2008 to 2011; Baghdad, Iraq from 2007 to 2008; and Jakarta, Indonesia from 2004 to 2007.  Ambassador Miller served in senior leadership positions at 6 United States missions overseas and in the Department of State’s Diplomatic Security Service in the United States.  He served as an officer in the United States Marine Corps from 1981 to 1984 and the United States Marine Corps Reserve from 1985 to 1992.  Ambassador Miller earned a B.A. at the University of Michigan and graduated from the United States Marine Corps Command and Staff College.  He received awards including the State Department Award for Heroism, Federal Bureau of Investigation Shield of Bravery, and Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association Bravery Award.  His military awards include the Navy Commendation Medal with “V” (Valor) Device, Navy Achievement Medal, and Combat Action Ribbon.  Ambassador Miller speaks French, Spanish, and Indonesian.

Christopher P. Vincze of Massachusetts, to be a Member of the Board of Directors of the Overseas Private Investment Corporation for a remainder of a three-year term expiring December 17, 2019.

President Donald J. Trump today announced his intent to nominate the following individuals to be Members of the National Council on the Humanities for the remainder of six-year terms:

  • David Armand DeKeyser of Alabama, expiring January 26, 2020.
  • Phyllis Kaminsky of Arizona, expiring January 26, 2020.
  • Kim R. Holmes of Virginia, expiring January 26, 2022.
  • Jean M. Yarbrough of Maine, expiring January 26, 2022.
  • Keegan F. Callanan of Vermont, expiring January 26, 2024.
  • Kathe Hicks Albrecht of California, expiring January 26, 2024.