National Archives This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Today, President Donald J. Trump announced his intent to nominate the following individuals to key positions in his Administration:

Judy Shelton of Virginia, to be a Member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System for the remainder of a 14-year term expiring January 31, 2024.

Dr. Judy Shelton most recently served as United States Executive Director of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. The United States Senate confirmed her by voice vote in 2018. Dr. Shelton previously served as Chairman of the National Endowment for Democracy in 2017, having served as Vice Chairman from 2010 to 2014 and on the board from 2005 to 2014. She was also a founding member of Empower America and a staff economist for the National Commission on Economic Growth and Tax Reform chaired by Jack Kemp from 1995 to 1996. Dr. Shelton began her career at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University, serving from 1985 to 1995. She is author of The Coming Soviet Crash: Gorbachev’s Desperate Pursuit of Credit in Western Financial Markets and Money Meltdown: Restoring Order to the Global Currency System. Dr. Shelton earned her B.S. from Portland State University, and her M.B.A. and Ph.D. in Business Administration from the University of Utah.

Christopher Waller of Missouri, to be a Member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System for the remainder of a 14-year term expiring January 31, 2030.

Dr. Christopher Waller currently serves as Executive Vice President and Director of Research at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. He has been in his current position since 2009. Dr. Waller previously served as the Gilbert F. Schaefer Chair of Economics at the University of Notre Dame from 2003 to 2011. During his time at Notre Dame, he also served as a research fellow with the Nanovic Institute for European Studies and the Kellogg Institute for International Studies. He was also the C. M. Gatton Chair of Monetary Economics at the University of Kentucky from 2003 to 2008. Dr. Waller started his career as a member of the economics faculty at Indiana University-Bloomington from 1985 to 1998. Dr. Waller earned his B.A. from Bemidji State University and his M.A. and Ph.D. in Economics from Washington State University. He is also a professional research fellow at Deakin University in Melbourne, Australia.